Pushing Daisies

I know I don’t have a television review blog tag, but I have to talk about one anyway.  I have been watching Pushing Daisies after my Netflix enthusiastically recommended it to me.  It is a weird little show.  The male protagonist has the ability to bring things back to life and then kill them again all with a touch.  He accidentally does this to his dog, his mother, and a myriad of insects as a child.  He becomes a pie maker and even does it to fruit.  He falls in love with a girl named Charlotte (Chuck) as a boy and then revives her after a murder on a cruise ship.  Shenanigans then ensue with Olive (Kristen Chenowith) who loves Ned, Charlotte’s shut in crazy aunts, and a PI who Ned works with to solve murders.

There is a narrator all throughout the story.  It’s a bit like Big Fish in its big stories and fantasy components, but I don’t know if it is as good as big fish.  Nor do I know if such a fantastical narrator and cast dynamic can work long term.  Weird show.  Weird, weird show.  It was on for 2 seasons before it was canceled and won arts emmies, for the striking visuals.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movie Reviews

Leave a Reply

